DIY Rice Pap

I did it I did it I did it. **dancing**

c360_2016-11-01-16-35-44-261

don’t mind my photography #nonprofessionals

Was supposed to give the how to make rice pap last week, but I din’t want to give a copied one, so I did my own pap in a food scientist way.

My Recipe

1 cup of rice

Lots of steeping (soaking) water

Boiling water

Milk (optional)

Sugar (optional)

Method

  1. Soak the cup of rice in water twice its level in the container for a period of 36-72 hours (I used 52 hours. Intention was for 48 hours but there was no light to grind, so I had to extend my soaking hours)
  2. Drain out the water (by now it smells of fermented rice)
  3. Blend that grain into a smooth paste
  4. Sieve out the particles leaving just a white liquid behind
  5. Allow the liquid to settle, then gently remove the clear liquid, leaving a white slurry
  6. Take as much of this slurry as you need and add boiling water (just as pap from corn is being made), or
  7. Pour the slurry on a tray and let it dry out in the sun

    c360_2016-11-01-16-36-42-209
    me drying my slurry #nonprofessionals
  8. Package the powder in a plastic bag away from water (anytime you need it, you just add small water to form a slurry then u follow procedure 6)
  9. Add milk and sugar to taste (optional)

Viola! You rice pap is ready for consumption

download-17

Your pap should look like this. my own was watery cos thats how I love my pap

Enjoy!!!!

Note

During steeping, try and change the water every 6 hours

In case you don’t like the smell after fermenting that long, you can just soak with warm water for 24 hours.

2 thoughts on “DIY Rice Pap”

Leave a Reply

